

# OUTLINED COURSE REQUIREMENTS FOR TENNESSEE ASSESSMENT CERTIFICATIONS

For more information, visit our website at www.comptroller.tn.gov

# <u>LEVE</u>L I

- ❖ Full-time employee in property appraisal field for ad valorem tax purposes
- DPA Tennessee Assessment Law Workshop
- DPA Appraisal Fundamentals Workshop
- DPA Basic Mapping
- ❖ IAAO Course 101
- Pass Comprehensive Exam

#### **LEVEL II**

- One (1) year full-time experience (for ad valorem tax purposes)
- Satisfy requirements of preceding level
- ❖ IAAO Course 102
- ❖ IAAO Course 400, or IAAO Course 600, or IAAO Course 601

## LEVEL III – TENNESSEE CERTIFIED ASSESSOR (TCA)

- ❖ Two (2) years full-time experience (for ad valorem tax purposes)
- Satisfy requirements of preceding levels
- ❖ IAAO Course 300, or IAAO Course 400, or IAAO Course 600, or IAAO Course 601
- IAAO Workshop 151
- ❖ DEMO and Exam, or Case Study and Exam

#### **LEVEL IV**

- Three (3) years full-time experience (for ad valorem tax purposes)
- Satisfy requirements of preceding levels
- ❖ IAAO Course 311
- ❖ IAAO Course 201, or IAAO Course 400, or IAAO Course 500, or IAAO Course 600, or IAAO Course 601

## <u>LEVEL V – TENNESSEE MASTER ASSESSOR (TMA)</u> (THREE PATHS - CHOOSE 1)

#### <u>Path #1</u>

- Four (4) years full-time experience (for ad valorem tax purposes)
- Satisfy requirements of preceding levels
- ❖ IAAO Course 112

## or Path #2

- Certified General Real Estate Appraiser (TN Real Estate Appraisal Commission)
- ❖ Two (2) years full-time experience (for ad valorem tax purposes)
- DPA Tennessee Assessment Law Workshop
- DPA Appraisal Fundamentals Workshop

#### or Path #3

Must hold a current: AAS, or CAE, or CMS, or PPS, or RES designation through IAAO

No one course may be used to satisfy more than one certification level requirement. Classes are not required to be taken in any order.

# REQUEST FOR DPA OR IAAO SPECIAL EXAMINATION RETAKE

For <u>TN county assessor</u> employees to be considered for a DPA or an IAAO Special Examination Retake at the cost of \$50 (with any remainder to be paid by the Office of the Comptroller):

- ✓ Must have received a passing grade on the examination of all recommended course prerequisites (see IAAO.org)
- ✓ Must wait 30 days after previous exam date before retake can be attempted
- ✓ Retake exam must be taken within 12 months of previous failed exam attempt
- ✓ Exam grade on previous attempt must be a 60 or above
- ✓ DPA will not pay for retakes for courses that issue only Pass/Fail results (no numeric grade)
- ✓ County assessor or appointed staff member must provide written approval
- ✓ Only (1) DPA exam and (1) IAAO Special Examination Retake will be approved per person, every 12 months
- ✓ Failure of a retake examination requires classroom attendance for all subsequent exam attempts of corresponding course
- ✓ Third attempt of course exam: employee is responsible to pay for 50% of the contracted rate between the Office of the Comptroller and the IAAO
- ✓ Fourth attempt or more of course exam: employee is responsible to pay 100% of the contracted rate between the Office of the Comptroller and the IAAO
- ✓ Completed IAAO Special Examination Application for Retake Exam must be received by the DPA Training Section at least 5 weeks prior to exam date
- ✓ Exam must be taken at a DPA office location and proctored by an approved DPA staff member

To schedule a DPA examination retake or an IAAO Special Examination Retake, please contact <a href="mailto:DPA.Administration@cot.tn.gov">DPA.Administration@cot.tn.gov</a> or call 615.401.3016.