Tennessee State Board of Equalization Kelsie Jones Kelsie Jones,
Executive Secretary, State Board Of Equalization

 

Share |
  • What's New
  • About the Division
  • Contact Us

The board is responsible for assuring constitutional and statutory compliance in assessments of property for ad valorem taxes. This responsibility is carried out through:

  1. establishment of policies, rules, and manuals governing local assessment practices and training for assessment officials;

  2. hearing of appeals from county boards of equalization regarding local assessments;

  3. direct review and hearing of appeals regarding central assessments of public utility companies;

  4. review of applications for religious, charitable, and related property tax exemptions;

  5. review of certified tax rate calculations from jurisdictions undergoing revaluation; and

  6. regulation of property tax appeals agents and agent practices.

 

Subsidiary boards appointed by the State Board for intermediate review are the Assessment Appeals Commission and the Taxpayer Agent Regulatory Panel.

Main Office

State Board of Equalization

9th Floor, W.R. Snodgrass TN Tower

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue

Nashville, TN 37243-1102

Main Number: 615-401-7883

Fax Number: 615-253-4847

Email: sb.web@cot.tn.gov

 

 
Administration

Executive Secretary
Kelsie Jones, JD
Kelsie.Jones@cot.tn.gov
615-401-7883

 

Executive Program Manager

Karen B. Hale, MAOM, CGFM

Karen.B.Hale@cot.tn.gov

615-401-7742

 

Customer Service

Administrative Secretary
Shirley Marriott

Shirley.Marriott@cot.tn.gov

615-747-5377

 

Administrative Secretary

Kewana Barbee

Kewana.Barbee@cot.tn.gov

615-747-5386

 

Agent Registration, Refunds/Sureties, Training

Administrative Services Assistant
Arlene Hailey
Arlene.Hailey@cot.tn.gov
615-747-5307


 
Value Appeals and Commission Inquiries/Processing

Legislative Legal Secretary
Rhonda Wright, CAP
Rhonda.Wright@cot.tn.gov
615-747-5388

 

 
Exemption and Certificate Inquiries/Processing

Legislative Legal Secretary
Marcia Greer
Marcia.Greer@cot.tn.gov
615-747-5378

 

 
Exemption Legal Review

Lead Attorney

Sabrina Williams, JD

Sabrina.Williams@cot.tn.gov

615-401-7883

 

Staff Attorney

Emily Bennett, JD

Emily.Bennett@cot.tn.gov

615-401-7883

 

Staff Attorney
John Sharpe, JD
John.Sharpe@cot.tn.gov
615-401-7975

 

 
IDB & Tax Rate Calculations

Administrative Analyst
Connie Sands
Connie.Sands@cot.tn.gov
615-747-5387