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Background

Public Chapter 700 (2000) made significant changes to Tennessee’s driver license laws relative to teen drivers.

The changes included:

 Lengthening the time teens are required to hold a learner’s permit;

 Prohibiting unsupervised driving by minors;

 Restricting when minors can drive; and

 Restricting with whom minors can drive.

These reforms created a graduated driver licensing

system for drivers under the age of 18. The restrictions

are intended to allow teen drivers to develop their

driving skills before obtaining full, unrestricted driving

privileges.

This publication reviews the concept of graduated

driver license systems, outlines the specifics of Tennessee’s graduated driver licensing system, and reviews

policy options highway safety organizations have suggested for strengthening such laws.

“Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for U.S. teens, accounting for more than one in three

deaths in this age group.”1 Nationally, 16-year old drivers have crash rates that are about three times greater than

17-year-old drivers, five times greater than 18-year-old drivers, and approximately twice the rate of 85-year-old

drivers.2

Tennessee ranked 6th in the nation for fatal crashes involving teenage drivers per capita, according to a 2008

national study by the insurance company Allstate. Among the nation’s 50 major metropolitan areas, the Nashville-

Murfreesboro region ranked 4th and Memphis ranked 16th.3

Tennessee Department of Safety statistics for the period from 1994 to 2008 show the highest number of fatal

crashes involving teenage drivers occurred in 1999. This number decreased in subsequent years, with

preliminary data indicating 132 fatal crashes in 2008, a fourteen-year low. (See Exhibit 1.) As shown in Exhibit 2,

the rate of traffic crashes involving drivers between ages 15 and 24 has decreased more than 18 percent since

2005.

Graduated driver licensing systems are

designed to “phase in young beginners to full

driving privileges” as they mature and become

more seasoned drivers.

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration, “Q&As: Teenagers – graduated
driver licensing,” April 2009,
www.iihs.org/research/qanda/gdl.html (accessed March 10,
2010).
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A graduated driver licensing system typically consists of three stages or phases:

1. Supervised learner’s period (e.g., a learner’s permit) – may drive only when accompanied by a licensed

driver.

2. Intermediate license – may not drive unsupervised under certain conditions, such as during certain hours

(e.g., late at night or early morning) or with more than one teen passenger.

3. Intermediate unrestricted license – no restrictions but must meet certain eligibility criteria. This license is

available upon completion of the first two stages.4

Research suggests that the most comprehensive graduated driver licensing (GDL) systems are correlated with

reductions in both fatal crashes and injury crashes among teen drivers. The Insurance Institute for Highway

Safety considers GDL systems to be the most comprehensive when they (1) delay the learner’s permit stage until

age 16 and (2) include strong nighttime and passenger restrictions. An Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

(IIHS) study of states’ GDL systems found that states with the most comprehensive systems saw larger

reductions in fatal crash rates among teen drivers (30 percent) and insurance claim rates (20 percent) when

compared to states with less comprehensive systems.5 Other research cites a 38 percent reduction in fatal

crashes among 16-year-old drivers and a 40 percent reduction in injury crashes in states with the most

comprehensive GDL systems.6

One particular element of a GDL system – restrictions on the number of teen passengers – has also been the

subject of national research. A National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) evaluation of crashes

involving teens in California, Massachusetts, and Virginia found there were fewer 16-year-old drivers involved in

crashes following the passage of passenger restriction laws.7

Year Fatal Crashes 

1994 209 

1995 220 

1996 201 

1997 214 

1998 212 

1999 221 

2000 189 

2001 191 

2002 197 

2003 162 

2004 191 

2005 167 

2006 171 

2007 178 

2008 132 

Exhibit 1: Fatal Traffic Crashes Involving
Tennessee Teen Drivers

Note: 2008 data are preliminary.
Source: Tennessee Department of Safety, data obtained from
Federal Analysis Reporting System (FARS) website,
http://www-fars.nhtsa.dot.gov/Main/index.aspx (accessed July 24,
2009).

Year Crashes per 1,000 drivers 
ages 15 to 24 

2005 136.65 

2006 136.38 

2007 129.55 

2008 115.64 

2009 111.57 

Exhibit 2: Rate of Tennessee Traffic Crashes
Involving Drivers Ages 15 to 24

Source: Tennessee Department of Safety, Office of Research,
Statistics, and Analysis, Tennessee Traffic Crash Data: County
Rankings and Statistics by Emphasis Area 2005-2009, March
2010, pp. 33-34, http://tennessee.gov/safety/stats/CrashData/
TrafficFatality/Rankings/CountyRankings05-09.pdf (accessed May
19, 2010).

Research on Graduated Driver Licensing Systems

http://tennessee.gov/safety/stats/CrashData/TrafficFatality/Rankings/CountyRankings05-09.pdf
http://tennessee.gov/safety/stats/CrashData/TrafficFatality/Rankings/CountyRankings05-09.pdf
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Tennessee’s Graduated Driver Licensing law provides three phases of licensing for teen drivers:

1. Learner’s Permit - Minimum age for a learner’s permit is 15. Nighttime driving restriction from 10 p.m. to

6 a.m.

2. Intermediate Restricted License - Nighttime driving restriction from 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. Requires 50 hours

of supervised driving, 10 of which must be at night.

3. Intermediate Unrestricted License - No restrictions but must meet certain eligibility criteria.8

(See Exhibit 3.)

Attendance and academic progress

Tennessee Code Annotated §49-6-3017 prohibits the issuance of a driver license to any person less than 18

years of age who at the time of application does not present a high school diploma or certificate of graduation, or

documentation that the person is:

     (1) Enrolled and making satisfactory progress in a GED course or has obtained a GED;

     (2) Enrolled in and making satisfactory progress in a secondary school; or

     (3) Excused from such requirement due to circumstances beyond the applicant’s control.

In addition, the state will suspend the license of any student under the age of 18 who drops out of school. After

withdrawing from school for the first time, a student will not be considered eligible for a license until he or she has

returned to school and either made satisfactory academic progress or turned 18. Students who withdraw from

school 2 or more times will have all driving privileges suspended until their 18th birthday.9

Minors who are enrolled in a GED course of study may have their driver licenses suspended upon accumulating

more than 10 consecutive or 15 days total unexcused absences in a semester. Additionally, a minor who does not

already possess a driver license and accumulates more than 10 consecutive or 15 days total unexcused

absences in a semester is ineligible for a license until his or her 18th birthday.10

Tennessee’s Law

Federal Legislation: Safe Teen and Novice Driver Uniform Protection (STAND UP) Act of 2009
Recognizing the link between strong GDL systems and reduced crash rates, federal lawmakers have

introduced legislation to give states incentives to further strengthen their laws. H.R. 1895, the Safe Teen and

Novice Driver Uniform Protection (STAND UP) Act of 2009, would provide driver safety grants to states with

GDL laws meeting certain minimum requirements. This legislation would encourage states to pass stricter

requirements for novice drivers under 21 and allow for withholding of federal funds for noncompliance.

This legislation would outline the following requirements for the learner’s permit and intermediate stage:

     Learner’s permit

 Commence at 16 or older and last for at least 6 months.

 Prohibit nighttime driving and use of a cellular telephone or any communication devices, except

in emergencies.

Intermediate Stage

 Commence immediately after learner’s permit stage and remain effective until the driver

becomes 18 or older.

 Prohibit driving with more than one passenger, nighttime driving, and use of a cellular telephone

or any communication devices, except in emergencies.

Source: H.R. 1895, http://www.opencongress.org/bill/111-h1895/show (accessed March 31, 2010).
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The IIHS11 ranked states on the comprehensiveness of their graduated driver licensing systems in 2009. The IIHS

considered the length of the learner’s permit period and the duration and stringency of intermediate license

restrictions to be particularly important to the effectiveness of a graduated driver licensing system.12

Most states, including Tennessee, received the highest rating.13 However, the IIHS recommended increasing the

minimum age required for a learner’s permit from 15 to 16. (See Exhibit 4.)

Exhibit 3: Tennessee’s Graduated Driver Licensing Law

a May have multiple passengers if (1) at least one passenger is 21 years of age or older with a valid, unrestricted license, or (2) passengers are
siblings living in the same house as the driver and going to and from school (if license holder has written permission from parent or guardian).
Source: Tennessee Department of Safety, “Driver License Handbook – Chapter 3,” p. 19,
http://www.tennessee.gov/safety/dlhandbook/07chap3.pdf (accessed March 1, 2010).

Status Check on Tennessee’s Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

 
Learner’s Permit 

Class 
Intermediate 
Restricted 

Intermediate 
Unrestricted 

Regular Class D 
R

eq
u

ir
em

en
ts

 

▪ Must be 15 years old 
▪ Vision Exam 
▪ Knowledge Test 
▪ Proof of Compulsory 

School Attendance 
and Satisfactory 
Progress 

▪ Parent/legal guardian 
must sign Teenage 
Affidavit of Financial 
Responsibility 

▪ Birth Certificate 
▪ Social Security 

Number 
▪ Proof of citizenship or 

lawful permanent 
Resident 

▪ Must be 16 years old 
▪ Must have held a 

valid learner’s permit 
for 6 months 

▪ Certification of 50 
hours behind the 
wheel, including 10 
hours at night 

▪ Cannot have 6 or 
more points on driving 
record during the 180 
days immediately 
preceding application 

▪  Driving Test 

▪ At least 17 years old 
▪ Held a valid 

Intermediate 
Restricted license for 
1 year 

▪ Cannot have: 
○ 6 or more points 

on driving record 
○ Been at fault in a 

traffic accident or 
convicted of a 2nd 
seatbelt violation 

▪ Must be at least 18 
years old 

R
es

tr
ic

ti
o

n
s ▪ Must have licensed 

driver age 21 or older 
in the front seat 

▪ Cannot drive between 
10:00 p.m. – 6:00 a.m. 

▪ Only 1 passenger a 
▪ Cannot drive between 

11:00 p.m. – 6:00 
a.m. 

▪ No restrictions, 
however, license still 
states “Intermediate” 
prominently on the 
face of the license 

▪ No restrictions and 
license looks like the 
regular “under 21 
license” 

Conclusion

Implemented in 2001, Tennessee’s GDL law places restrictions on the state’s youngest drivers to allow them time

to develop driving skills before obtaining full, unrestricted driving privileges. Research suggests that the most

comprehensive GDL systems are correlated with reductions in both fatal crashes and injury crashes among teen

drivers.
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Expert Recommendations Tennessee’s Graduated Driver Licensing Law 

Learner’s stage begins at 16 and lasts at least 6 
months 

Learner’s stage begins at 15 and lasts at least 6 
months 

30 or more hours of supervised driving 
50 hours of supervised driving, 10 of which must be 
at night 

Restrictions of unsupervised night driving and 
passengers during the first 6 to 12 months of 
licensure 

Restriction of unsupervised night driving and 
passengers during the first 18 months of licensure 
(learner’s permit and intermediate restricted 
phases)  

Nighttime driving restriction should start at 9 p.m. 
or 10 p.m. 

Nighttime driving restriction from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. 
for drivers with learner’s permit and nighttime 
driving restriction from 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. for drivers 
with Intermediate Restricted Licenses 

No more than 1 teen passenger No more than 1 passenger a 

 

Exhibit 4: A Comparison of Expert Recommendations for GDL Laws and Tennessee’s GDL Law

a May have multiple passengers if (1) at least one passenger is 21 years of age or older with a valid, unrestricted license, or (2)
passengers are siblings living in the same house as the driver and going to and from school (if license holder has written permission from
parent or guardian).
Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety and National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, “Q&As: Teenagers – graduated driver
licensing,” April 2009, “Question 1. What is graduated driver licensing?,” http://www.iihs.org/research/qanda/gdl.html (accessed March 10,
2010). National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, National Evaluation of Graduated Driver Licensing Program, June 2006, p. vi,
http://trafficsafetymarketing.gov/teens/linkfiles/GDL/810888GradDriverLicense.pdf (accessed March 1, 2010). Tennessee Department of
Safety, Driver License Handbook, Chapter 3, p. 19, http://www.tennessee.gov/safety/dlhandbook/07chap3.pdf (accessed March 1, 2010).
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